"Boxing Still Matters, " Chapter III - A New Golden Era. Blog #0022

Updated: Jan 19

Chapter Three A New Golden Era

There have been at least three “Golden Eras” in boxing history. The first was in the beginning decade of the Twentieth Century. It was the era of Jim Jeffries, Jack Johnson, Stanley Ketchel, the original Joe Walcott, Joe Gans and Jimmy Wilde. The second would have to be the Nineteen Twenties; the time of Dempsey, Tunney, Harry Greb, Mickey Walker and Benny Leonard. The third is the Nineteen Seventies, with the mega-fights featuring Muhammed Ali in his fights against Joe Frazier, George Foreman and others. Bob Foster, Carlos Monzon, Jose Napoles and of course, Roberto Duran provided more than enough excitement in the other divisions.

And so we come to the Nineteen Eighties. It was the decade that featured the rise and fall of Mike Tyson, the creation of the Cruiserweights, Marvelous Marvin Hagler, and Sugar Ray Leonard against Thomas Hearns, Roberto Duran and Hagler and despite the four sanctioning bodies was a truly great decade for boxing. The “middle” divisions; Middleweight, Welterweight and Lightweight are covered in detail.

6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All