"Boxing Still Matters," Chapter VI - The Middle Divisions - Blog #0025

Updated: Jan 19

Chapter VI – The Middle Divisions

Middleweight, Welterweight, Lightweight

As the decade of the nineties rolled in the middle divisions in boxing were already filled with excitement. James Toney, a pro’s pro held the middleweight title until he vacated it in 1993 to campaign in the higher divisions. He was a smooth boxing counterpuncher with power and smarts. The lineal title was then vacated until 2001 with the emergence of B-Hop; Bernard Hopkins.

The welterweight division was outstanding. Maurice Blocker brought in the decade, followed by Simon Brown and Buddy McGirt. The decade really got rolling with superstars Pernell Whitaker, Oscar De La Hoya and Felix Trinidad. The mega-fight between De La Hoya and Trinidad, won by Trinidad was one of the decade’s highlights. Whitaker and De La Hoya premiered as lightweights and lit up that division as well. Many of the boxers in these weight divisions from the Nineties are remembered by fans in the present era.

5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All