"Boxing Still Matters," Chapter XIV: Lights, Jr. Lights, and Feathers of the 2011-2020 Blog #0033

Chapter XIV

Chapter fourteen continues the saga of the last decade in professional boxing. There is a short review of the lightweight division, mentioning greats such as Benny Leonard, Joe Gans, Tony Canzoneri, Henry Armstrong, Alexis Arguello, Julio Cesar Chavez and Floyd Mayweather Jr up to Juan Manuel Marquez, a current great and one of Mexico’s very greatest boxers. From Marquez, we go to Omaha, Nebraska lightweight Terrance Crawford and briefly review this outstanding young man’s career. As Crawford is the last lineal champion, he vacated his title in 2015, we jump ahead to 2018, Vasily Lomachenko, winner of 396 amateur fights against one loss and his winning the lineal lightweight title beating Jorge Linares. In 2020, he finally loses the lightweight title to Teofimo Lopez.

The jr. lightweights did not have a star performer in the decade and there was not a lineal champion, although some future lightweight champions passed through the division. The featherweights on the other hand, were loaded with star power. Early in the decade Washington D.C. featherweight Gary Russell Jr. lit up the division and WBA. That sanctioning body produced three more strong featherweight champions, Nonito Donaire, Leo Santa Cruz and a true rarity, a Chinese world boxing champion Xu Can. The IBF gave the world Josh Warrington and Orlando Salido and the WBO Vasily Lomachenko and Oscar Valdez.

2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All